Port Angeles/Sequim, Washington


I am going to start off by saying that this man is incredibly handsome. Okay…now that it is OUT of my system, I would LOVE to talk to you about our trip to Washington state. This state is one of my favorites to visit because it is absolutely beautiful. There are a lot of things to see and do. Most people, when they go to Washington, they visit Seattle. But apparently that was way too cliche for my parents. So we went to Sequim, Washington instead. We met up with my parents at the Seattle/Tacoma airport and because they love us, they greeted us with bananas and chocolate muffins. To say that your parents know you the best is a HUGE understatement.

So once we see my parents, we ask them if we can spend the day in Seattle. They said they did not want to deal with the traffic. SO…we drove about three hours instead (one way) to Port Angeles; which is about an hour away from Forks, Washington. (For those who are Twilight haters, that is where the Cullens and Bella live.) On our way to Port Angeles, we got caught on a draw bridge. So we waited for the boat to get through the bridge and meanwhile, we get out of the car, look over the edge and saw jellyfish (like two or three) surfacing the water. I feel like this was a very exciting moment for Eric.

On our three hour journey, we stop at a cute little rest stop with HUGE totem poles right next to an unbelievably gorgeous lake. So obviously, I force my parents to stop and take a picture. OBVIOUSLY. This rest stop was located in Sequim, Washington. This is probably where I want to live when I grow up;) I did not know this, BUT I was told that the Lavender Festival happens in Sequim annually in July. Here is the link about the festival if you’re interested in checking it out: http://www.lavenderfestival.com

Displaying IMG_0095.JPG

This place had totem poles everywhere and a lot of history to read about. Honestly, this place reminded me a lot of Alaska. So this would be a GREAT place to go if you wanted to get a tiny taste of what Alaska would be like. I am pretty much in love with this place and thankfully, Eric loves it too, so there is hope! YAY!

Displaying IMG_0144.JPG

Okay, so moving on: We get into the car and finally finish our stretch to Port Angeles. We get there and it is the cutest little town that I have been in for a while. They have little mom and pop businesses and delicious smelling restaurants. I DON’T LIKE SEAFOOD BUT…the smell coming out of those restaurants were BOMB! It is actually very surprising how easy it is to park downtown without paying for a parking spot. IT’S THE BEST FEELING EVER. We parked close to the water in hopes of finding a delicious-cheapish restaurant. LO-AND-BEHOLD, we found one! YAY! It is called “Smuggler’s Landing Restaurant“. Their dishes averaged $10-$12 a person and they have EVERYTHING there.

The restaurant is inside a mall called, “The Landing.” It is really easy to find because it is right by the dock and easily the biggest building in Port Angeles. You can also look across the way and see Vancouver Island, Canada. They have a car ferry that takes you to the other side. The terminal is RIGHT next to the restaurant. So my mom and I got the Chicken Fingers ($10.99) My dad got the Fish Sandwich ($12.99) and Eric got the BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich ($11.99). There absolutely NO complaints from any of us. The food was fresh and really well cooked. We recommend it. It’s actually a MUST if you make your way to Port Angeles. Here is the link if you’re interested: http://www.smugglersportangeles.com/home.html

After lunch, WE WERE STUFFED. But, we walked over to the farmer’s market which happens Monday through Sunday from 10am-2pm. They all sorts of things there: hot sauce, honey, asian sticky rice, vegetables, and beautiful flowers; my mom bought me one. (50 cents.) I love her. The farmer’s market is small enough to not be overwhelming with people but big enough to be entertained for a bit. Also: a MUST see.

Knowing my father, we decided to go to Costco to eat samples; even though we were stuffed. After a little bit, we decided to head back to Tumwater, Washington to make it in time for my cousin, Nathan’s wedding. He looked so happy and I am so glad that my family was able to make it for his special day.

Honestly, I hope we move here.